Average seat time learning to drive

SmallJaw

I know I have to put some seat time in to learn how to really get the most out of my XB21 Bassport. My question is sort of a hard one to answer as about all of you don't know what my skill levels are to start with etc. But, just for conversation if nothing else, if I'm an above average driver who has run Rangers, Tritons, etc. in the 70's for many years, how long do you realistically think it will take me to get to where I can really start to fly my boat? JFYI, first time out by myself I ran it 77 in some semi-rough water on the river with no issues. This thing has so much power it would be a crying shame to never let her loose some while I'm having a little fun. I just want to live to tell about it!:LMAO:

xb03

It took me about 6 or 7 trips to the lake. Setup and balance are the key, to making the learning curve easier and faster.

M-Wiggy

It also took about six trips to the lake, I was washing decals untill one day it just clicked !!!! then I had to learn to land one without a wobble...That was no problem...Just wear safty gear and enjoy

Tim Bostic

There have been a few that never learned to drive theirs.
They had the attitude that a v-bottom should run rubrail to rubrail...... and if it wasn't, you didn't know "how to drive it"?????????? WOW!!!!

I've taught many people how to drive their Allison's over the years. It seems easier to teach someone that's never been in a performance boat before..... most people try to overdrive an Allison.... you must get the "feel" of the boat and make small adjustments before the boat gets out of hand.... if you try to react to the boat, you're always "behind" and it's very difficult to get ahead of it.... sometimes it happens to me when I'm not paying attention & all I can do is let off the gas to slow down slightly and then back into it.

Seat time is the way to go & one day it will just "click" and you'll wonder why you had a hard time driving it?