Engine height on XB2003/225 PM???

Allyfishing

I have no knowledge on a prop to pad measurement for a 225 PM stock sporty on a stock lip XB2003 with 14.5" setback.

And my question is if a lip has been reduced at all how do you know where to start with prop to pad?? What would be the procedure for figuring out how to set the engine height with an XB03 loaded for fishing? This promax has an offshore mid and I guess has to run an over hub prop.

I set the prop to pad at exactly 1/2" below pad. I drove and the passenger sat beside me and at around 6200 it hit a wall at 71.9 MPH. I bumped the trim a bit more and the bow got a bit squirelly so i stopped there. There is no trim gauge other than a stainless marine which is not hooked up at the motor. At idle the engine looked a bit past neutral trim so I figured it should be about right on the trim.

If the lip was reduced at all would that be the reason for hitting a wall?

Thanks.....I'm trying to help out a friend.
Craig

silverbullet02

Super Moderator
Staff member
Doesn't have to run an over the hub prop. Is that skewbys old boat? 1/2" is too low. With almost no lip on mine I ran 1/2" above for every day running. Just got the lip put back on and 1/4 below now it feels a little low and will probably end up at even I'm guessing.

Allyfishing

Yes Bryan it's Skewby's. I dropped it down to 1/2" below pad cuz when I first checked it, it was well above the pad. Not knowing if or how much of the lip was worked or removed, is why I dropped it. And also being a new driver I figured it should keep him out of trouble.

Skewby carried some safety equipment and a beer cooler while Mick is going to have it loaded to fish. Right now he has some tackle and rods etc. and 3 heavy batteries, MK 80# fortrex.