XB2003 turning a 28 A-5 chopper 6700

brotherxb03

I wen't fishing today and put my box stock 28 pitch A5 chopper on. I have a sportsmaster with a 1.87 gear and turned it 6700 with the hydro plate set around 3/4 above the pad. How fast do you think it was running. I think I could have got a couple hundred more out of it stretched out.

FlatOutAlly

I wen't fishing today and put my box stock 28 pitch A5 chopper on. I have a sportsmaster with a 1.87 gear and turned it 6700 with the hydro plate set around 3/4 above the pad. How fast do you think it was running. I think I could have got a couple hundred more out of it stretched out.
Maybe 90. Still more work to be done though... If you're really 3/4 above, you could be a bit too high.

Last edited:

GotMyAlly

My guess is you had a lot of slippage at 3/4 above if you have a stock pad lip. Upper 80's at best....that's my guess.

xb2003

i agree if it was trimmed u were slipin some.... try a touch below the pad 1/4" to 1/2" rpm's will come down, but speed should go up.. JMO
I agree you should lower to atleast a 1/4 below and go up till the rpm's increase and speed drops. Lower it a 1/8th and your set for that load. You should still be able to run at or close to the rev limiter in the low 90's.

msethsmile

Funny Guy
Is that a small ear chopper? I don't think one of those will carry a xb2003. Not enough blade area unless you run deep, which kinda defeats the purpose.

brotherxb03

It's a big ear. The boat also leaned a litlle to the right at wot. I find I have to have the hight and trim perfect to hold the boat at wot. This is only the second time I try running a chopper,but it handles better with the sportsmaster then with the other LU with the bob's on it.

Last edited:

GotMyAlly