xb2002 20 inch rude needs help

shockwave

I am new to A boats and you guys are the A boat gods! I need a good starting point to get this boat to handle. Here is what I have:

XB2002T 900lbs according to BILL.
225 looper rude no real mods other than fiber reeds.
Unknown low water pickup cone.
The only thing I can say for sure is that it does not look like my land & sea cone.
27 pitch over hub.
6 inch manual jack.

I have a 6 inch Bob's hydraulic I can stack or change. As best I can tell prop shaft is 2 inch below pad....and at that point the boat washes the sides.
Everything that I have read on this site indicates 2inch below is way to deep so yesterday I lowered it 1 inch. Tomorrow I plan to take it out and check the results.

I appreciate any input and advice you have to offer.

Thanks,

John

Bobalouie

I run my XB02 1/8" - 3/8" above the pad. IMHO, you shouldnt be any lower than 1/4" below the pad, and from the sounds of it, you probably need to come up another 3/4". I have similar setback to you, mines a 7" manual plate. You might want to check and see if your pad still has the lip on it, because that will greatly effect the height you will want to run your engine. Mine pad has the lip on it.

On another note, do you have cable or hydro steering? If it is cable, you will need to make sure there is absolutely no slop in your steering, and make adjustments if it is not tight. If it is hydro, make sure it is properly bled.

How long have you had the boat? If it is new to you, it will probably take quite a few outings in the boat before you get the feel for her. If your setup is bad, then it will just compound your problem.

Last edited:

SLOmofo

"2inch below is way to deep so yesterday I lowered it 1 inch."

I take this as you raised the engine 1 inch. Instead of lowering.

When you get to the lake have some one that you trust tell you if at rest it is level side to side. Look at the transom.