why do people prefer single axle trailers?

pcrussell50

i was just reading the "wanted to buy" section and a guy looking for an xb03 _specifically_ wanted a single axle trailer. why?

aren't you better off with dual axles from a safety/handling perspective?

all my boats so far are small, [16' or smaller] and obviously have single axle trailers, but when you start getting into bass boat sizes, i'm not sure what the continued advantage is of single axle.

then again, i'm new to boating and towing, so maybe i'm missing something.

when i go shopping for an xb03, i would like to know the pros and cons of both choices.

-peter

Bobalouie

The tandem trailers are harder to maneuver by hand when positioning in your garage or whatever. I think most trailer axles are rated at 3500#, and when you are talking about a lightweight Allison, you dont really need the extra axle unless you want it for looks, or if you are towing long distances often. It may be more necessary on a barge like a Ranger or Champion where the hull alone is wieghing in at 1200+ lbs and carrying a 4 stroke or 3.0L engine on the back.

I have a single axle under mine, and it tows like a dream.

ssv1761982

Super Moderator
Staff member
The tandem trailers are harder to maneuver by hand when positioning in your garage or whatever. I think most trailer axles are rated at 3500#, and when you are talking about a lightweight Allison, you dont really need the extra axle unless you want it for looks, or if you are towing long distances often. It may be more necessary on a barge like a Ranger or Champion where the hull alone is wieghing in at 1200+ lbs and carrying a 4 stroke or 3.0L engine on the back.

I have a single axle under mine, and it tows like a dream.
This is so true. I can to push my bigger heavier Checkmate anywhere I want. The 2003 on a dual axle trailer is a bear to turn just a little bit in the garage by hand.

Texan