Skeg repair

MWest77

Hey guys! I've been doing a lot of research on skeg repairs. Welding mainly. I always hear its a no no from many and many others saying the worry is completely unfounded. So far in my reading, I have found absolutely no evidence of a welded or repaired skeg failing. Anyone that has welded a minute of their life knows that a proper weld is stronger than the surrounding material and if prepared properly is nearly impossible to see the repair. If there is a real proven reason for concern on this subject, please point me in that direction. I plan on getting a new gear case soon, most likely a sporty because they look cool but until then, being that I'm currently not a millionaire, will have mine repaired if possible by a reputable repair person. I get tired of hearing people swearing one thing or the other with little or no basis for the argument to start with. Thanks guys! BTW, I am a mechanic, welder, fabricator with nearly 20 years experience from auto, diesel, heavy equipment, to heavy industry so I got a touch of mechanical common sense. :soap box:beating dead horse

SLOmofo

Michael, before you do, give me all the data I'll need to buy a life insurance policy on you payable to me.

Even if the case was stripped, preheated, welded and then properly cooled I wouldn't put it on my boat.

I don't remember seeing a picture of it here.

:same ole song

suicidealli

It is a no no, on a hippo boat. Saying that I also was a fabricator, and certified welder, and still have my certificate. I have welded everything, and some alloys I can't spell.lol