Pathetic

tekajo

I have been boating on the Ohio river since the early 1990's. Someone has a beautiful 22 ft stoker with a 300 horsepower evinrude that has been kicking my *** for years. I have run against him with a 18 ft 6 inch baja with 350 magnum and a 21 ft checkmate with 225 promax. He was always happy to smile and drive right on past me. No problem. I can take a beating now, and I took one then. I have had my 2003 xb with 225 promax for 3 years now and have been waiting. I fish, waterski and cruise and have a 26 pitch trophy. GPS speed 85 mph. My 17 year old son and I were pulling out for the day when I spotted him about to launch. We came out of the water and with pit crew precison off came the trolling motor, fishing rods, seats, and tackle box. While we were launching again he spotted us and took off. He had a pretty good lead and I hammered it and pinned the rev limiter. He was probably running about 70 to 75. As I caught him and slowed down waiting for smooth water the unexpected happened....... the spineless, neutered SOB slowed and turned away. Pathetic

mikesufka

I have a similar story.

Back in the early 1990's, my dad owned a Hydrostream Vasseret/130 Yamaha combo. Every weekend I took the boat out. There was a guy with a Ebbtide ( I think) or some other fish/ski bassboat. He was running a ProV 150 Yamaha. We both topped out about 60 MPH and raced everytime we were on the lake. We'd always stop and chat, wave, smile, etc...

A few years go by and we upgrade to a 200 ProV Yamaha. Top speed is now 80+ MPH. I can't wait to go find my old friend with the Ebbtide. So, sure enough, he's out one day, we "race", as I run with him at 60 MPH for awhile. He's pointing at the new motor and I'm smiling. After a mile or so, I drop the hammer and walk away from him, just to show him the new speed. We stopped, chatted, he asked questions, etc... After a very friendly conversation, we part ways.