GenII 200XS / SS2000

Lotus 50

I have been setting aside money for 2 years for a 200XS. Hopefully they make it for another two years. Funny thing, I started the 200XS account right after I bought my PM.

Q1 Would I keep my 8" Detwiler (sp?) jackplate or go manual? I vary load and water conditions a lot, so the engine goes up an down depending on needs.

Q2 Would I keep my Bob/Hydromotive worked CLE and sell the Sporty from the 200XS or keep the stock gearcase, or get the Sporty modified.

Much as I love my 225 PM, it's too thirsty for the long cruises I would like to do, so eventually I need something less thirsty. Might be a 150 HO Etec, 175XS, or 200 ROS XS. The ROS 200XS bought in the US is less expensive than a 175XS bought in the Toronto area.

I am a couple of years away, not too soon to plan/dream. I seldom go over 80, so the 150 HO would actually be fast enough.

michael j giesler

If you can swing it somehow I would get the 200ros this fall I am waiting to here how much longer they will make it as for the drag is in a holding pattern maybe forever I will find out in a couple of weeks

mxzx

Does the 200xs come in a 20" mid? The 200xs ros seems like the perfect motor. Is there a worry about swamping a 15" motor if lowered for cruising or watersports?

Last edited:

h2oskiier30

Does the 200xs come in a 20" mid? The 200xs ros seems like the perfect motor. Is there a worry about swamping a 15" motor if lowered for cruising or watersports?
Not the gen 2's, I don't think. 15" with a sporty, or 12" with a speedmaster are the only choices, as far as I know.

Dave Hensley

Michael are they going to release any 200XS ROS in the US? I heard they were all going to export. Like I said in another thread, that motor is the saviour of our little boats if Mercury would just make them available. Even if it was just powerheads. Of course they would ask $18k for a dressed powerhead. Sad, right Richard?!?!?

90 5.0

Can you buy a 200xs sport 20"??