Gas and Hydraulic Fluid

msagro

I am totally new to the outboard world so I have some basic questions. I just boat an XB2003 with a Mariner 2.5L Offshore, 260 HP I beleive, never been moded to my knowledge. I have been doing some research and know that I should run the fuel oil mixture at 32:1 but my question is do I run premium unleaded in it or what fuel should I run? My second question is about the hydraulic steering, is there a specific fluid that is supposed to be in it?

Thanks

RedAllison

BOOGETY BOOGETY BOOGETY, aint it the 260 Offshores that don't have a limiter on them???

:at the bar
RA

ziemer

BOOGETY BOOGETY BOOGETY, aint it the 260 Offshores that don't have a limiter on them???

:at the bar
RA
All depends on what chip is in the ECU. Ya never know with the older digital boxes cause the chips are interchangeable (and reprogrammable). :beer:

ziemer

...know that I should run the fuel oil mixture at 32:1 but my question is do I run premium unleaded in it or what fuel should I run?
Be sure to run a good oil. Can't just run the Merc or Quicksilver Premium Plus or plain ol' TWC-3.

Some of the more popular brands are:
Mercury Performance Blend
Klotz 333 or R-50
Alisyn Pro Power
Penzoil 100% Synthetic

Klotz, Alisyn and Penzoil are all full synthetic. :wink

msagro

So with this engine I should run a full synthetic oil, not a blend? I read over some of the posts in this section on oils and guys were talking about steel sleeve motors and different people saying run this and that so I was not sure what would be best, to be truthfull I have always been a big block Chevy guy. Any suggestions are deffinately appreciated.

Be sure to run a good oil. Can't just run the Merc or Quicksilver Premium Plus or plain ol' TWC-3.

Some of the more popular brands are:
Mercury Performance Blend
Klotz 333 or R-50
Alisyn Pro Power
Penzoil 100% Synthetic

Klotz, Alisyn and Penzoil are all full synthetic. :wink

h2oskiier30