Any bad experiences with 3 liter/xb 2003?

JOEALLY

Ok guys,

I have read for hours using the search function on this website about the 250 pro xs / xb 2003 combo. I know it CAN be done. I am strongly considering going this route as I have a really good deal on a 2007 250 pro xs local to me if I want it and my boat has a modified lip.

With that said, I have owned 3 xb2003s - each with a 200xs on it. I have owned a couple of 3 liter merc pro xs on bullets but I have NO experience with a 3 liter on a xb2003.

A couple of you guys have given me good info through pms on this set up, I appreciate it very much.

Now, my question is, "has anyone had any bad experiences with the 3 liter / xb 2003 combo?" If you prefer to pm me that's fine.

Thanks for the help. :gone fishing

whipper

I think go for it!! The one thing that I think about with this setup these days is that Bush is making some really great mods now for these. If you can get the revs in around the 7000rpm or higher range the ability to run smaller pitch props will make this setup safer and more functional on our hulls. That and a shorter midsection. The biggest problems Ive heard of is to high of a center of gravity with the 20inch and needing a 30+ pitch prop to get off the limitter without a ratcheting gearcase. Most of these issues are being adressed. Im not sure on if all yet? But its just a matter of time.

A 250XS with a 15 inch mid 7000+rpms with a ratcheting gearset running a 27 pitch prop would be a dream I think. I would measure your fulcrum with the 2.5 and the current setback. Then do what ever ya had to do to get that back in the same spot. Move the tank forward a few inches, batterys forward etc..while still maintaning a setback into the good water of 6-10inches. The parachute effect with the top heavyness and 30-32 pitchers non ratchesting are the biggest issue from what Ive heard?..

GotMyAlly