Another new Allison owner

JGray

Long post so bear with me...

I have been lurking on this site on and off for several years and have become very intrigued with these boats. I recently found myself without a boat (primarily Rangers in the past) which renewed my interest in the Allisons. I have been reading this board daily over the last couple of months trying to learn as much as possible while looking for a boat. I have been watching the various internet classifieds for a while and just purchased a '96 XB2003 ProSport Tournament w/ '96 225 ProMax. It has a CLE l/u and 30" Merc Chopper.

I am located in Montana where Lunds and Crestliners are very common and Allisons are basically unheard of. I am an engineer by trade, but work part time for a local boat dealer selling Crestliners and Sea Rays on the side. One of our other salesmen asked me what kind of boat I bought and then replied with "what in the he!! is an Allison?" (to which I just smiled).

I am the second owner and the boat was purchased new and rigged by Baker Marine. I don't believe the previous owner changed any of the original set-up. I was told that the boat ran 93 mph by the dealer when testing the set-up (I assume one person), and 90 mph on delivery (I assume two people). In checking to see where everything is set, this is what I found: I leveled the pad and prop shaft and as best I can measure, the prop shaft is 1-1/4" below the lip at the back of the pad and appears to be about 1-1/2" below the pad. It has an Allison jack plate that is adjustable for height with a threaded rod/bolt system on each side. There are three sets of mounting holes to adjust setback, and it is currently in the middle, which measures about 12". The outer mounting holes will give about 13-1/2" of setback.