Right prop needed

Steve Melton

I have just bought a used XB21 and need some help on getting it propped right for the way I will be using the boat. I will be mainly fishing but still want to be out in front of the pack when it comes to blast off! Right now it has a Mazco 26 pitch 4 blade and the hole shot is sluggish and just not satisfied with how the boat is handling with this prop. It has 1:1.62 gear ratio.
If anyone is running an XB 21 w/250XS Sport and has any suggestions, I'm all ears! I know I'm new to this boat but I have driven a couple performance boats in the past but none have given me the trouble of getting it under control quite like this one.
If anyone is interested in trading props just let me know what you have and we will see what we can come up with, thanks!

Last edited:

skewby

what 21 did you get? prosport, 2+2 or the basssport? the bravo xs is a pretty good starting point, i run a 27 and 28. my best speeds come from a 28 promax that has all the allison mods from robbie patterson. i like it for about everything. it spools up a lil more at break over than my bravos but it carries the boat well and drives easier

GotMyAlly

What gear ratio are you running?
27" or 28" Hydromotive X-OB is perfect for 1.62 gears. If you've got 1.75's, set it up an inch.

Steve Melton

I'm sorry, I should have said that it was a Bassport. I'm trying to find out what gear ratio the lower unit is but the previous owner hasn't been much help so far. I really don't think he has any idea what I'm asking but my fingers are crossed and hoping for the best. Thanks for the information so far and if I do find out the gears I will definitely post it on here for more helpful information. It has 1.62 gears.

Last edited:

GotMyAlly

Drop the lower unit, turn the propshaft 1 complete rotation, and count the revolutions of the driveshaft. Or i bet a merc shop could look it up by s/n.

skewby